Richard is Board Chair of the Morrison Institute of Public Policy at Arizona State University, and has a lifetime of civic and political involvement, including service as President of the East Valley Partnership, and as an elected member of the board of directors of the Roosevelt Water Conservation District and Electrical District No. 5 of Maricopa County.  He served on the Maricopa County Pollution Control Corporation Board, as well.      



Richard is particularly gratified by his experience with Arizona Town Hall, which he has served with 34 years of continuous membership, two terms on the Board of Directors, and a term on the Executive Committee.  Arizona Town Hall is unique in bringing people from diverse interests and backgrounds into consensus around the pressing issues of the day.

Community Service & Involvement 


Arizona Academy (Town Hall)
     Board of Directors 

     Executive Committee

     Nominating Committee


East Valley Partnership
     President, 1992-1993

     10 years of continuous board membership


Governor’s Committee on Williams Air Force Base Re-use


Morrison Institute for Public Policy, Arizona State University

     Executive Committee

     Advisory Board 

Rotary Club (Mesa Baseline and Phoenix 100)
     Named a Paul Harris Fellow


Valley Leadership, Class I


Roosevelt Water Conservation District



Arizona Department of Water Resources, Phoenix Active Management Area
     Safe Yield Task Force Subcommittee


Arizona Strategic Plan for Economic Development
     Agribusiness Cluster Committee


Electrical District No. 5 of Maricopa County
     Board of Directors


Arizona Republican Caucus
     Chairman, 1985

Presentations and Publications

Feeding the World, delivered at the annual meeting of the Agribusiness Council of Arizona, May, 2012


Culture and Global Water Crisis. Faculty (Panel Member) on program sponsored by the Jesuit Alumni in Arizona, Phoenix, November, 2008.


Lessons Learned from the Central Arizona Project, delivered at a Drylands, Deserts and Desertification Conference sponsored by Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Sede Boqer Campus, Israel, November, 2012